FRIDAI Editorial Guides

Free AI Customer Service in 2026: What You Really Get From LINE, Instagram and 5 Free Plans or Trials

What is really free in 2026: LINE and Meta native auto-⁠replies, free plans from ManyChat, Tidio, CAAC Go and InsightArk, their limits, and FRIDAI's trial.

What Free AI Customer Service Really Gives You: Know the layer, Use native first, Read the caps, Upgrade late
What Free AI Customer Service Really Gives You

First, is the free part an auto-⁠reply or actual AI?

What turns up when you search for a free AI customer service chatbot falls into three layers, and they differ a lot in price and ability.

LayerWhat it doesFree in 2026?
Fixed auto-⁠replyA keyword or button matches and a prewritten text goes outPlatform-⁠native features mostly cost nothing extra
Flow-⁠based chatbotWalks through a question-⁠and-⁠answer flow you drewMost tools have a free plan, with caps
AI customer serviceUnderstands different phrasings and answers from your content and rulesMostly limited trials, rarely free long term

The first two layers do not understand the customer. They match. Only the third is the AI people picture, and it is the layer least often free. The difference is explained more fully in AI customer service platforms compared.

What the platforms give you for free

Start with what the platform already gives you. Nothing in this section needs an outside tool.

LINE Official Account: keyword auto-⁠replies are not billed

LINE is the dominant messaging app in Taiwan, and a LINE Official Account (LINE OA) is its business account. LINE's 2026 pricing announcement lists these message types as not billed: the welcome message when someone adds you as a friend, one-⁠on-⁠one chat messages, auto-⁠response messages, AI auto-⁠response messages, and Reply API messages sent through the Messaging API. In other words, when a customer writes in and a keyword rule replies, it does not use up your message quota.

LINE's FAQ is also clear that keyword auto-⁠responses need an exact text match. A customer who types 營業時間 (opening hours) triggers it; one who types 你們幾點開 (what time do you open) does not. Setup and examples are in LINE auto-⁠reply setup and 15 examples.

LINE AI Chatbot (β): not free

LINE's FAQ says the AI Chatbot (β) is one of the features of the Advanced Chat plan (聊天進階方案) and can be used only by accounts that buy that plan. LINE's official column lists the plan as a NT$100 subscription. The page does not state the billing cycle, so go by the purchase page.

The same column sets out these conditions: it is a beta with a monthly cap on replies; it is recommended for accounts with fewer than 25,000 friends; medical or social welfare, financial, religious, political or government, and legal businesses may be unable to use it; and LINE does not guarantee the accuracy of replies. The official manual adds that you can create at most 100 FAQ entries. When the reply cap is exceeded, LINE says the system switches modes automatically: manual replies during working hours, auto-⁠response messages outside them.

NT$100 is not much, but it is not zero, and the feature is built to pick an answer from the FAQ entries you wrote.

Instagram and Facebook: Inbox automations in Meta Business Suite

Meta's help page calls this set of features Inbox automations. They are available for Facebook Pages, Instagram business accounts and WhatsApp Business accounts connected to Meta Business Suite. The templates include an instant reply for a first message, an away message, frequently asked questions, location, contact information and hours, plus custom keywords and comment to message. Meta notes that those last two can currently be set up only on desktop.

The limits Meta spells out are worth knowing in advance:

  • One custom keyword automation can hold up to 5 keywords or phrases.
  • Keywords must match exactly and are case-⁠sensitive.
  • The same keyword can be used in only one automation.
  • A keyword reply is sent 15 minutes after the message arrives, unless you reply yourself first.
  • When a template automation and a custom keyword are both triggered, only the template response is sent.

If you plan a "comment to get the link" campaign, read the fourth point twice. Full setup and Meta's messaging rules are in Instagram auto-⁠reply in 2026.

Tools with a free plan or trial

These are the options FRIDAI Editorial opened and checked on each official pricing page today. Tools we did not check are left out, which does not mean they have no free plan.

OptionWhat is freeMain limitWhen you outgrow it
LINE auto-⁠responseKeyword replies are not billedText must match exactlyCustomers phrase things many ways
LINE AI Chatbot (β)Not free; needs the Advanced Chat planMax 100 FAQ entries, monthly capYou need follow-⁠up questions or data collection
Meta Inbox automationsTemplate and keyword auto-⁠repliesUp to 5 keywords per automationYou need context or instant replies
ManyChat Free25 active contacts a month2 channels, 4 triggers, no AIA little engagement goes over the cap
Tidio Free50 billable conversations a monthAI free for the first 50 onlyYou want ongoing AI, or LINE
CAAC Go Free200 AI conversations a monthWebsite and WhatsApp, 1 seatYour customers are on LINE or Instagram
InsightArk Free1,000 friends, 1 chatbotLINE only, no AI points listedYou want AI replies or more channels
FRIDAI trialNo free planUS$1, 30 days, 100 messagesIt converts to paid when it ends

ManyChat Free

The Free plan on the official pricing page is $0 with 25 active contacts a month, 2 channels, up to 4 live triggers, 1 user and Manychat branding, and it needs no credit card. Manychat AI is listed from the Pro plan up. The official channel list is Instagram, Facebook Messenger, TikTok, Telegram, WhatsApp, SMS and Email. LINE is not on it.

The 25 means people you interacted with that month, not messages. One comment campaign on one post can pass it. Options for the Taiwan market are in ManyChat alternatives for Taiwan.

Tidio Free

The Free plan on the official pricing page is $0 with 50 billable conversations a month. For the Lyro AI agent the wording is that your first 50 conversations are free, marked as a lifetime allowance rather than one that resets monthly. For Flows automations, the first 100 visitors reached are free. Paid plans come with a 7-⁠day free trial that needs no credit card, and the account drops back to Free if you do not upgrade. The integrations shown on the pricing page are website chat, Messenger, Instagram, WhatsApp and email. LINE is not listed.

It suits a shop with its own website that wants a chat window in the corner.

Crescendo Lab CAAC Go

CAAC Go is a lightweight product from Crescendo Lab (漸強實驗室, a Taiwanese conversational commerce vendor), separate from its main CAAC product. The Free plan on the official page is $0 with 200 AI conversations a month, 1 seat and a website crawl capped at 15 pages, and no credit card is needed to start. Paid plans start at US$29 a month. The channels shown are a website chat widget and WhatsApp; LINE is not mentioned. Crescendo Lab's official blog also states that the dashboard is currently English only, while replies to visitors work in any language.

The pricing page for Crescendo Lab's main products shows no public amounts and no free plan. Do not mix the two up.

SUPER 8 InsightArk Free

The free plan on the official Chinese pricing page is labelled free forever: up to 1,000 friends, 1 team member, the LINE channel only, 1 chatbot and 100 tags. Monthly AI points are listed starting from the Starter plan. So this free plan gives you a LINE social CRM and a flow-⁠based bot, not AI replies. The Standard plan is separately marked with a 14-⁠day free trial, and the official FAQ says a trial needs no payment method on file. More in FRIDAI vs Super 8.

FRIDAI: no free plan

Plainly: FRIDAI has no free plan. What the site offers is a trial with a US$1 verification fee (NT$30 if you pay through PAYUNi or JKOPAY, two Taiwanese payment channels). It runs 30 days, covers up to 100 DMs or comments, and uses a simplified dashboard. When the 30 days end or the allowance runs out, whichever comes first, it converts automatically to the plan you chose and billing starts, so cancel before then if you do not want to continue. Each service can be trialled once. Regular Chat plans start at US$70 a month.

So if your condition is "not one cent", FRIDAI is not on your list. Look at the options above.

The three hidden costs of "free"

Your time

Free tools leave the setup to you. You think up every keyword, draw every step of the flow, and hunt down the old number yourself when a price changes. That time never shows on a bill, and it is usually the biggest item.

Message fees

Replies to customers being unbilled does not make every message free. LINE's Light plan (輕用量) is NT$0 a month with 200 free messages and no option to buy more. What consumes the quota is proactive pushes such as broadcasts. LINE has announced that from November 1, 2026 the Medium plan goes from NT$800 to NT$1,000 a month and the High plan from NT$1,200 to NT$1,400, all before tax, with free message quotas unchanged. Once your friend count grows, one broadcast can use the whole allowance. Details are in LINE Official Account pricing 2026.

Nobody takes over

When a fixed auto-⁠reply has no answer, it usually stays silent or repeats the same line. It does not tell you a customer is stuck. The order you lost will not appear in any report.

Real cost of a free plan = hours a month on setup and updates × your hourly rate
                         + message fees or upgrade fees past the free allowance
                         + enquiries nobody caught

A paid tool runs through the same formula with one more line for the monthly fee. The full method is in the AI customer service pricing guide.

How to use a free trial without wasting it

ToolTrial termsWhen it ends
ManyChatEssential or Pro free for 14 daysNot stated on the page; paid plans need a card
TidioPaid plans free for 7 days, no cardDrops back to Free if you do not upgrade
InsightArkStandard plan free for 14 days, no payment methodAs stated on the official page
FRIDAIUS$1 verification fee, 30 days, 100 messagesConverts to the chosen plan and bills

Trials are short, so prepare before you press start:

  1. Write down ten real customer phrasings and the answer you want for each.
  2. Put the end date in your calendar on day one, especially where billing starts automatically.
  3. Test one channel and one type of question. Do not switch everything on.
  4. Test "no answer available" and "customer asks for a person" at least once each.
  5. Decide the day before it ends. Do not let the trial decide for you.

You can take the test cases straight from the matrix in 9 questions before adopting AI customer service.

How to choose: a decision flowchart

Flow: How to choose: a decision flowchart
You want a free auto-⁠replynextWhere are your customers?
Where are your customers?LINELINE auto-⁠response plus rich menu
Where are your customers?IG or FBMeta Inbox automations
Where are your customers?WebsiteFree plan of a website chat tool
LINE auto-⁠response plus rich menunextQuestions few and fixed?
Meta Inbox automationsnextQuestions few and fixed?
Free plan of a website chat toolnextQuestions few and fixed?
Questions few and fixed?YesStay on the free features
Questions few and fixed?NoNeed phrasing understood and handoff?
Need phrasing understood and handoff?Phrasing onlyOn LINE, look at AI Chatbot first
Need phrasing understood and handoff?BothCompare paid AI customer service and trial

Our position is simple: if your questions are few and fixed, stay on the free features. Do not pay just to "have AI". A few well-⁠written keyword replies plus a rich menu (LINE's tappable menu at the bottom of the chat) are often enough for a small shop with simple questions.

When should you move off free?

Start looking at paid tools when any of these shows up:

  • Customers phrase things so many ways that no amount of keywords catches them all.
  • The same person needs three or four rounds to give you complete booking details.
  • You are still answering messages one by one every evening.
  • People ask on LINE, Instagram and Facebook, and the answers live in three back ends.
  • You find a customer who asked and got no reply, and it is not the first time.

The three upgrade routes, native add-⁠on, ready-⁠made tool and building it yourself, are compared in LINE AI auto-⁠reply: native vs tools vs DIY. If you are not yet sure AI is the right move, read Does a small business need AI customer service? first.

What changed for 2026

  • Monthly fees for the LINE Official Account Medium and High plans change from November 1, 2026. The Light plan stays at NT$0 with 200 messages.
  • LINE's official column introducing AI Chatbot (β) was published on November 12, 2025. The feature is still labelled a beta, and its conditions may change again.
  • Meta's help page notes that turning on Meta Business Agent pauses existing automations such as away messages and instant replies. Do not count on both at once.

FAQ

Is there a completely free AI customer service?

For fixed-⁠text auto-⁠replies, yes: neither LINE Official Account nor Meta Business Suite charges extra. AI that understands different phrasings is mostly free only in limited amounts or short trials. Tidio's AI, for example, is free for the first 50 conversations only.

Can I run AI customer service on a LINE Official Account for free?

Keyword auto-⁠responses are not billed, but the text must match exactly to trigger. LINE's AI Chatbot (β) belongs to the Advanced Chat plan and must be purchased. LINE's column lists it as a NT$100 subscription; check the purchase page for actual billing.

Does Instagram have a free auto-⁠reply?

Yes. Inbox automations in Meta Business Suite offer an instant reply, away message, frequently asked questions, custom keywords and comment to message. The limits: keywords must match exactly, each automation holds up to 5, and the reply text is fixed.

How long can I use ManyChat's free plan?

The official pricing page states no time limit. The limits are on usage: 25 active contacts a month, 2 channels and up to 4 live triggers, and Manychat AI is listed from the Pro plan up. Its official channels do not include LINE.

Does FRIDAI have a free plan?

No. FRIDAI offers a 30-⁠day trial with a US$1 verification fee, covering up to 100 DMs or comments. When it ends or the allowance runs out, it converts automatically to the plan you chose and bills, so cancel before then if you do not want to continue.

Why do free chatbots so often miss the point?

Because most free features match text rather than understand meaning. If the customer's wording differs from your keyword by one character, nothing triggers, or the wrong reply does. Change keywords to words customers really type, and add a menu so they can tap instead.

What happens when I go over a free plan's allowance?

It differs by vendor. LINE's Light plan cannot buy extra messages. Tidio's free AI conversations require an upgrade for a new allowance once used. For other tools, read the overage section of the official pricing page before signing up, not on campaign day.

How FRIDAI can help

If free features already catch your customers, FRIDAI Editorial sincerely suggests keeping them. When phrasing multiplies and you need AI that answers by your rules and hands off to a person when it should, use the US$1 trial to connect FRIDAI Chat to one account and test ten real questions before deciding.

Official sources